Check Out My Chart!

Depression affects people in different ways, the same with anything really, everyone is different therefore is affected differently. Everyone is also on different levels with depression, some are affected more than others. With me I am fully aware that I have depression, I know that it is there, I know that it affects certain aspects of my life, and I know only I can change that.

The way depression affects me, is the way it affects my thinking. See some people let it totally consume them, taking over their life, leaving them crippled in bed, I’ve been through this stage and never want to go back to it.

I’m at the stage now where I can pull myself out of bed, I can identify when I’m in a very low mood and I am aware when my thinking turns negative. However there is a huge difference between identifying and changing. I know it’s there, I know all about it but I am not yet at a stage where I can whole heartedly fight it.

To help change this, I have introduced a new routine!

Routine is very important, I currently have a routine but it is not an effective routine. My new efficient routine helps me to start my day on a positive note; getting me up and out of bed, moving, burning some energy, eating properly and taking time look after myself and body. So far it is great, I feel very empowered. I don’t feel like I have wasted my day even if all I have done is my new routine. At least I have tried and done something positive.

I made myself a chart, breaking down my morning routine into small manageable tasks, and for every task I complete I fill it in with a smile face sticker!

Childish I know but it’s a well-known fact that people react well to rewards, and personally I loved school, I loved being top pupil and I loved collecting stickers! So I have designed my chart that way because I know I will strive to do my best.

I also keep my chart on show, I don’t hide it, I’ve blue-tacked it to the wall… It really helps to keep me motivated as I know other people will see it.

Check Out My Chart

Leave a Reply

