The Words I Heard Today

The words make me feel strange,
I think I am in shock.
The words make me feel strange,
With thoughts I can not block.

The words make me feel strange,
They make me feel quite numb.
The words make me feel strange,
My heart a broken thrum.

The words make me feel strange,
Just starting to sink in.
The words make me feel strange,
It hurts so much within.

The words make me feel strange,
The words I heard today.
The words make me feel strange,
My Nan has passed away.

4 thoughts on “The Words I Heard Today

  1. No matter how much we expect things in life, we are never truly ready. But that’s not weakness… It’s just the way it is! Keep your memories, thoughts and love for your gran somewhere close, and her life will never have been in vain.. Sending kindness x

  2. My nana raised me from the time I was 18 months old and When she died I was kind of shocked. I knew she had cancer but in my ignorance I thought she was beating it. I was 22. Then I went numb. The exact numb you explained above. I tried to drown that out with drugs and alcohol for a while, but it didn’t work (imagine that :)). One night 3 years later something inside clicked and I realized she really was dead.
    Your post is saddening and yet comforting to know that I am not the only one who has went through this so thank you 🙂

    • Thank you so much for sharing your own story and such a personal experience. I’m sorry it has taken me so long to reply, I’ve kind of been off the radar for a while but I’m slowly coming back. Your words are so kind and heart felt, and I can not thank you enough for taking the time to share them with me. All the best, Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

