A Final Farewell

Today was my Nan’s funeral and I surprised myself …

… I didn’t cry, I laughed!

I listened to the fond memories and stories of my Nan and I didn’t find my heart filled with sadness but instead happiness.

It helped me to remember all those wonderful things I had forgotten about her.

About the person she really was before the dementia stole her.

Her suffering for the last eight years was finally being laid to rest, and the lady I once knew could be celebrated and remembered for what she really was… An amazingly loving, gentle and caring woman.

When it came to the moment of silence, I chose to send her a mental message, a final farewell if you like.

I don’t know if I believe in the afterlife and I don’t know if she heard my message but it helped me to find peace and reassurance in the fact that I had finally said the things I wanted to, to her, to my Nan.

In loving memory of my Nan ‘Betty’ 12/09/30 – 24/02/13

Rest peacefully and give Grandad a kiss for me Nan x

2 thoughts on “A Final Farewell

  1. This is such a beautiful gift of love to your Nan. It touched me and made me think of how much I miss and love mine! Thank you! Peace of Mind & Love to You, Nana
    P.S. I love your blog. I just started my own last month.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment, it means so much to me that you have taken the time to write it, especially for this post as well. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply, I’m a bit slow with my admin.
      I will be sure to check out your blog, and I should soon be writing posts again as my site updates are nearly complete!
      Charlotte 🙂

Leave a Reply

