Tied to Reality

Tell ya what, if I didn’t have the support of my man I wouldn’t be here.

He’s been so lovely over the last couple of months. He’s really kept me together despite it all.

He’s like a comforting weight that keeps me tied to the ground; tied to reality.

Without him I would float away into a mental world, full of darkness and hate.

The other day I found myself in such a state…

I don’t even remember what set me off or how I ended up like it, but there I was, in a heap on the bed, crying my eyes out, getting to the point where I couldn’t handle my own mind. I had started to pull at my hair and scratch myself. But the thoughts would not stop and I was so worked up that I was finding it hard to breathe.

Then in comes Glen.

He doesn’t say a word, he just comes over to me. He pins my hands between his chest, hugs me and just lays there with me, stroking my hair until I find reason again.

I wish he didn’t have to see me like that or have to endure me when I’m like that but he does and he just accepts me as I am. Mental and all.

As shit as it sometimes seems, I can’t get over how lucky I am to have such a wonderful, caring partner.

I am truly a lucky girl.

Tied to Reality

2 thoughts on “Tied to Reality

  1. So sorry to her you are having a rough time lately. I have my moments, too, and I also feel lucky to have such a wonderful man in my life who is patient and grounding. Glad your guy is so compassionate. Hope things get better!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment, it really means a lot to me! Things are a little better, but I suppose with depression it’s just one of those things where your constantly going backward and forwards; I have my good days and I have my spectacularly bad days! I hope your well and if your ever on Twitter look me up, I’m always here for a chat!
      Thank you again,
      Charlotte 🙂

Leave a Reply

