A Years Reflection

That crept up on me quickly!

When did it seriously become winter and get so close to Christmas?

I suppose this will be my last post before the new year, so it’s time to reflect!

People say it all the time, but my gosh hasn’t it been a roller coaster of a year

  • In January I started the year in a new housing situation moving back in with my Mum. It’s been (and is) a test, I will say that much.
  • I enrolled as a student in February, officially starting my home diploma course in Children’s Literature. I’ve now passed the first five modules and all with 100% pass rate.
  • From around March I was battling a bad ’bout’ of depression. I had six sessions of cognitive behavioural therapy to try and help.
  • My partner got a new job in April as a trainee electrician. The long hours and time apart has been a major change for both of us, and we’re still slowly adjusting.
  • In May depression was clearly winning and I felt consumed and totally overwhelmed by my own mind and thoughts.
  • Continuing into June I decided to share my ‘manic writing’ coping mechanism. Everyone’s feedback and support was just amazing.
  • Fearing another breakdown, in July, I referred myself for counselling. Some of the advice I was given has been invaluable to me.
  • August made me appreciate my partner more, his support after the onset of nightmares and sleepwalking saved me. I’m grateful for him everyday.
  • My counselling ended in September and focusing on the positives led to the booking of a wedding venue. The countdown has now begun.
  • Changes came in October with the start of a better routine, job applications and a more optimistic outlook. I feel like I have gained some control over my life again.
  • I was rewarded in November with the loss of eight pounds in weight and a blogging landmark of two thousand viewers. I still can’t believe either has happened, it just seems too good to be true.
  • And now in December, I find myself feeling proud of the year I’ve had. It’s been intense but I made it!

Sometimes I feel like a failure who has achieved nothing and has done nothing with my life, but every day is a battle and to be where I am now, how I feel right now, isn’t half bad.

You just always have to celebrate the little things in life and surround yourself with your own positive achievements.

Thank you so much to all you readers out there and I wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Here’s to improved mental health in 2015! Cheers!

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

