Me, Myself, Precautious Reassurances and I

I was thinking about the first day I went to work…

There I was in my stiff, hot, starchy uniform with;

– A vest top on underneath for security.
– A bottle of rescue remedy in my bra for emergencies.
– A bottle of water for fear I would become dehydrated.
– A pair of old shoes on for comfort.
– A packet of biscuits in my pocket for the possibility of feeling faint.
– A hair band on my wrist to ping for when my anxieties got too much.
– A locker key tied to my belt for worry it would fall from my pocket.
– And a watch for knowing when I could escape.

… Look at all those precautions!

Remember that post I done before about reassurance and how it could be both a positive and a negative thing?

Well, this is a key example.

Reassurance

Although they helped me feel a little less anxious and a little more prepared for any situation, they brought worrying thoughts and possibilities with them.

So I knew if I carried on with these little precautions everyday I would just be going around in circles, letting my anxieties win.

I’m now at the stage where I don’t carry out any of these precautions.

It’s about making tiny little changes everyday, allowing the precautions to slowly slip away without you even truly noticing – without your anxious thoughts even truly noticing.

Some days you’ll find your thoughts will “flare up”, like they suddenly cottoned on to those small changes you’ve made but challenge them. Stick it out and keep making those small changes – you might surprise yourself.

I did.

6 thoughts on “Me, Myself, Precautious Reassurances and I

  1. Charlotte, I am so proud of how far you have come and all that you have achieved, I’ve followed your journey and I know how difficult it has been for you, you are an inspiration x

    • Thank you so much Alix, it’s certainly been a roller coaster. I’m sure it’s not over yet but I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to cope with it better! 🙂
      Hope your well xx

  2. What a great post! The image truly highlights the duality of reassurance. Thank you for sharing it Charlotte!
    It sounds like you’re doing wonderfully in achieving balance at work! Good on you! 🙂
    xx

Leave a Reply

